November on the Heath


Pastels 4"x7"

An imaginary scene based on what I feel about the time of the year in this part of East Anglia. I put in the background with soft pastels, rubbed with a finger and then fixed. Then I worked over that with my carre pastels and fixed again.

~ by noelgarner on November 18, 2010.

5 Responses to “November on the Heath”

  1. Reminds me of Seapalling in Norfolk where we spent many a good holiday

  2. The colors in the sky are quite beautiful and the blue of the sea is so intense and dramatic. I can almost feel the wind in my hair and the chill nipping my cheeks. Lovely work.

    • Hi Linda, We certainly have that nip in the air in this area. I was out painting yesterday morning wrapped up in mitts and scarf and coat and still got pretty cold. Hope you have some good painting weather where you are.

  3. If I attempted anything here today it would be monotone. Very wet day. It’s wierd, last week I was using pure colours!! I like this moody little work.

    • I’d like to see how you would treat that kind of weather, though, Erin. When I think of your work I carry images of southern France and fresh warm breezy weather in Sydney (not that I’ve been, but I’m getting the impression that that’s what it’s like.) Thanks for your comment – I was playing around with pastels and have since bought some more. Hope your lovely studio is going well.

Leave a Reply

 
