Perranporth beach oil sketch in stages


7"x6" permanent pen on oil underpainting

So what to do when you haven’t painted for a bit and picking up the brush feels strange? Paint something small and VERY simple. I had this small board to hand – already primed with an ocre underpainting. The lines are from the sketch I posted yesterday. Then I started to apply colour from memory and what seemed right and SIMPLE. The photos below show the three stages that followed. Half an hour at the most. In fact I started and finished it before I left the house at 7.45am, and that included taking the photos. I felt one whole lot better when I had finished.

stage 2

stage 3

stage 4

~ by noelgarner on August 11, 2010.

One Response to “Perranporth beach oil sketch in stages”

  1. I REALLY, really love this oil painting; the way you’ve painted the many people, the sea, sky, rocks – and the colourful, reflective representation of the stream leading to the sea. It brightened my working day, with all the lovely array of bright colours – and way you’ve shown contrasts in light with different shades. FAB! Sorry haven’t got back on other comment…only just seen and been a bit hectic….but shall get back shortly:-) Well done again!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
