Boats at Bere Ferrers


9"x9" watercolour

I was feeling pretty pleased with this until I realised it looks like the telegraph post is a mast in the boat! Adjustments later.

Notwithstanding the above, I was pleased with this because Judy and I had walked for a few miles and found a pub at Bere Ferrers not far from where our friends live and who we are visiting on our way to Cornwall. We sat on a bench with our drinks and I thought to myself, you are going to sketch, Noel, but only from where you are comfortably sitting right now. And this view was off to my left.

It’s mostly about connected lines, and repetition – 2 people, 2 boats, 2 trees, 2 poles etc. I once saw this in a composition by the great English watercolourist JS Cotman – repeated pairs –  and thought to myself how clever it was without being too obvious.

I apologise for the quality of the photos over then next week. I am posting from my phone’s camera which is not too clever.

We’re now in Perranporth and am sketching and painting as much as I can. I’ve already got three days of posts so I will post at least once a day.

~ by noelgarner on July 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
