Sweet Peas finished


12"x16" oil on canvas

You’ve seen this, but this is a proper photo of it. On this last session I had an umbrella up and for the first time in this heat I felt comfortable painting. I decided to stop as soon as I felt I had done enough as opposed to stopping just short of ruining it with detail. A good strategy in this instance.

The Open Studio was not a great success this weekend. Was it the heat, the world cup final, other things going on in Cambridge? I don’t know, but I didn’t get more than 15 people a day at the most. Have to see what things are like next weekend in order to come to some conclusion about whether this is a good investment of time and effort. It has been very useful talking to other artists, and budding artists, however.

~ by noelgarner on July 12, 2010.

3 Responses to “Sweet Peas finished”

  1. hey noel, I like the texture of this painting, and the brushstrokes and shading/ colouring of the ornamental tree. Sorry to hear the Open Studios isn’t as thriving as hoped. But, I just feel to say – don’t write off doing again immediately, do ponder and consider. Sometimes good things are slow to start, and 15 people is still 15 individuals who you may have inspired/ learned from. I know that’s not quite the point – there’s other considerations you’ll have. We can get something different from each situation – a hectic one, or a quiet one. Each thing in life is a learning experience, never wasted:-) A blessing in it’s own way.

  2. I guess what trying to say – how does one measure “success”? Quality or quantity of people who showed an interest? Is it about numbers…? Good to reflect on if things need to improve, whether worth doing again, but sounds successful to have people in, and looking each day (and time to paint!) on the Open Studio front. Anyway, enough of my musings; I am a bit of philosopher….just wanted to encourage you:-)!

  3. Thanks for your comments Rachel. You’re right, it’s not all about numbers, it’s all about sales. No – just joking. Well, partly. I’ve met lots of artists and interesting people and talked and talked and talked about painting. Anyway, still another weekend to go…

Leave a Reply

 
