Sketches on Midsummer Common, Cambridge


3"x3" Water-soluble wax pastel and permanent marker

3"x3" fine-point permanent marker

The flower painting is on hold until I open up the Open Studio next Saturday and Sunday. In the meantime, I cycled into town this afternoon to pick up some art materials, and stopped for a moment to do the sketch at the top. Lots of bicycles criss-crossing the Common. If I had had more time I could have spent a lot longer practising drawing them than I did here in the second sketch. I realised how little I know about the actual geometry of a bicycle and the posture of someone riding one.

I deliberately bought a very small square sketchbook because I do think there is a lot for me in breaking from my usual landscape format. I think it may help me think more of shapes and lines running through and beyond the picture plane, although I don’t think I have exploited that particularly in this instance.

~ by noelgarner on July 5, 2010.

One Response to “Sketches on Midsummer Common, Cambridge”

  1. Nothing stops you just keep on going as I think your brilliant

Leave a Reply

 
