Earls Barton Saxon church, Northamptonshire


4"x7" watercolour and ball point pen

This is probably the finest Saxon church tower  in England, dating from 970AD. I have passed Earls Barton countless times on the A45, in a rush to get from A to B. But this time we made more time, and stopped. I’ve been here once before, when I was 17, on my motorbike (a BSA A7 500cc twin, now much missed).

I like the detail on the tower. The lines of stone almost look like carpentry – but they form part of the structure and penetrate about half a metre. The foundations are one foot deep.

A wonderful subject. I first drew in ballpoint pen (all I had with me) and then washed in with watercolour. Then as my son was driving us, I went over a few details again in the car with the pen, adding detail here and there.

~ by noelgarner on June 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “Earls Barton Saxon church, Northamptonshire”

  1. I love the soft colors of this and the loose drawing. Nice.

  2. Thrilled to see you drawing like this, as well as all those other techniques you are soooo good at. There is a lovely spontaneity about it. More please.
    Cheers, Erin

  3. Thrilled to see you drawing like this, as well as all those other techniques you are soooo good at. There is a lovely spontaneity about it. More please.Cheers, Erin
    +1

Leave a Reply

 
