Abandoned lightship, Orwell bridge, Ipswich


Oil 16"x12"

Oil 16"x12"

I started this on location and put in the anglers digging up bait, and the shadow of the magnificent Orwell cutting across the picture plane. But as so often, what remains in my mind in not necessarily what was there. So on my first iteration I have lost the figures and the shadow. I would like to end up with large areas of plain colour with the boat having focussed detail.

I am enjoying strong colour at the moment. Perhaps it is a result of my slow progress through the colour course I have been doing for a while. And somewhere in the mix must the influence of painters like these three, examples of whose work I reproduce (rather poorly, sorry) here. I leave you to work out who they are.

~ by noelgarner on June 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
