Cambridge from Castle Hill


6"x12" oil

Castle Hill is the site of a Motte and Bailey Castle. It is just about the only hight spot in the centre of Cambridge, but isn’t readily seen since it is only just above roof top height. I was there last evening to sketch the skyline as the sun went down, along with, it seemed, a small army of Japanese tourists armed to the teeth with high-tec SLRs. As I painted I heard one of them say “A pity about the cranes next to that church spire.”

As they left, the self-same paused, looked over my shoulder, and said with compassion “a bit out of date aren’t we?”. To which I gave what I thought was a pretty smart answer: “Well at least I can delete the crane.” Sorted!

~ by noelgarner on June 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
