On the river at Brownshill Staunch


Watercolour and touch of gouache. 5"x8"

Monday evening was warm and sunny so Judy and I took to the water on the River Great Ouse at Over. We motored slowly up to Brownshill Staunch (now an electrically operated automated lock) which marks the upper limit of the tidal river. Tied up and had strawberries and cream with chilled white wine. Judy is not really taking my photo call seriously as usual. I did a watercolour sketch looking back the way we came while she read. There were terns wheeling about which I thought was a bit unusual, and we saw a kingfisher calling (that was a first for me) as it sped along the river bank. Nothing special about the sketch, but I always like to put something on paper if I can.

~ by noelgarner on May 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
