Landscape Demo for art class


Oil on canvas pad 12"x12"

We left London at 6.30am Saturday for me to be back in Cambridge to take an introductory art class for some local residents at 10am. We had fun. In the space of three hours I ran through the basics of drawing with charcoal, pencil, conte, pastel, watercolour and oils. Plus they were doing some still life of fruit I had brought with me. Some had done a bit of painting and some were total beginners. I did it for free because these folk all live near me. I accepted their invitation to come back for another session on one condition (pause for silence….): that they all come and visit my Cambridge Open Studio in July.  Deal done!

This was a ten minute demo with the canvas pad pinned to the wall, showing the very basic of oil technique – fat over lean, and emphasising that for me “fat” never means gobs of paint otherwise I could never paint much in one session plein air.  The imaginary scene has more than a passing resemblance to the landscape I sketched in oils on Friday (posted yesterday)

~ by noelgarner on May 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
