Rapeseed fields at Longmeadow, Cambridgeshire


Oil 12"x8"

My wife says she likes this. I say I don’t like the colour  – not the painting – the local colour in the field. She says she doesn’t like it. I say you just said you did. She says no I mean the plant – a nasty cash crop and it smells horrible. I agree.

The underpainting in blue acrylic worked well. I usually do this in diluted utlra oil paint, but since I like to paint straight on top, the blue smudges into the next layer – and if I happened to have been drawing in light areas like the sky, it is obvious and and a nuisance. The acrylic dries quickly and gets round this problem. It also allows me to scumble in tonal values and  that dried fast too. So I might adopt this idea.

I developed this from my pencil sketch on site. Usually I take a reference photograph if I am not actually painting plein air, but not on this occasion. A photo would have been useful for the trees, or if I had put in more detail on my site sketch.

~ by noelgarner on May 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Rapeseed fields at Longmeadow, Cambridgeshire”

  1. Rapeseed may be a nasty plant but it makes great paintings. Beautiful color and strong composition. Nice work.

  2. Thanks Linda. I like your bird of paradise painting BTW. What does ATC stand for?

Leave a Reply

 
