Little Wilbraham Fen, evening.


Pencil 4"x6"

I got out to paint yesterday evening about 7pm. The sun was low in the sky and mostly behind clouds. However I hoped that when I got to the place I had in mind the clouds might just clear for a moment and would at least enable me to do a reference sketch and take a photo. And indeed that’s how it turned out. A wonderful glow spread out across the fen from the setting sun behind me. I was in a rather awkward spot behind a crash barrier on a busy road intersection, but I know for a fact that this is the only place where you can get this particular view. So I got to do my sketch, take some fantastic photos which I will post to Flikr, and do an oil sketch to boot. All very pleasing and again I have the makings of a bigger painting.

Oil 11"x7"

~ by noelgarner on May 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Little Wilbraham Fen, evening.”

  1. really very tasty oil sketch, very english, reminiscent of Wilson Steers freer sketches, nice one Noel

  2. Yes, I agree on the very English comment. I think of the 19th C watercolourist Peter de Wint when I look at this view, partly because he spent a lot of his life in the flatlands of the East Midlands and the Lincolnshire Wolds, and didn’t stray very far from this. His subdued colours are a bit like this I think.

Leave a Reply

 
