Grantchester meadows, near Cambridge


Not for the first time have I tried to paint this particular view on the river Cam walking from Grantchester in the direction of Cambridge. I don’t want to paint detail; I want to represent the feeling of the place in a quiet warm evening with almost no-one about. This is a place of tremendous history. There must be countless numbers of  famous literary, philosophical and scientific figures who have walked along this pathway or rowed along its sheltered waters. But can I do it? I cannot. I start well and then lose my way. In desperation  back in the studio, I slapped on a black outline to the messy shapes I had been fussing with. At least it has forced some simplicity, but I think it will be a case of starting over.

I called in on  a local annual art show today (I had better not say where) to get a feel of standard of work and price levels. It was disappointing. The best work was really good – and some of it under-priced without a doubt. But then in the same show there was work of incredible mediocrity, badly framed and often over-priced. Surely selection committees realise that this kind of hotch-potch debases the good work whilst the good work shows up the poorer stuff to be worse than it would otherwise seem to be. Very strange.

Oil 8"x12"

~ by noelgarner on April 17, 2010.

3 Responses to “Grantchester meadows, near Cambridge”

  1. like the subtle way you’ve done the reflection in the water on the painting; clever 🙂

  2. You must know this part of the river?

  3. Yes, indeed! I used to like coming down to this part of the river on an early morning (admit, not one for awhile) and seeing all the swans fly townward, up the river, with the morning mist rising up from the water surface. Atmospheric.

Leave a Reply

 
