Farm near Bath


Oil 8"x11"

Painted this a few a week ago for days like this when I have to be out in a rush. This is from a photo I took out when walking with family and friends several years ago. I couldn’t stop to sketch at all, but I was struck by the way the buildings, trees and walls flowed down the side of the steep hill as I looked up to them from lower down. I’ve tried to to emphasise this rhythmic flow by keeping the foreground and sky plain. The ground was orange, and I allowed little bits to peep through to enliven the surface, especially against the green.

~ by noelgarner on March 27, 2010.

One Response to “Farm near Bath”

  1. I really like this one. Clear shiny colours, ( looks shiny to me ) great shapes. A lovely piece of work.
    Also like the new one – the block patterns of the church. I like that you’ve taken a portion and just worked that area. You have certainly been busy.
    Cheers,
    Erin

Leave a Reply

 
