In the Science Park -again


5"x8" gouache

This was gouache in the sense of mixing some permanent white with every watercolour mix I made up for this. The reason being that it was about to rain and I was outside, so if  I had used wet-into-wet watercolour it would have all ended up a messy soup – and not for the first time. And I wanted a simple theme – stark, dark tree trunks contrasting with a cloud of golden daffodils (now that’s a nice phrase; must copyright it). So the application was not unlike alla prima oils. However, spots of rain were in evidence before I finished, and that’s what the pale blotches are on the tree trunks. Improved it I think.

~ by noelgarner on March 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
