Willows, Quy Fen, Cambridge cont…


Oil 8"x12"

I wanted to retain the way in which the green of the field continued up the trunk of the trees, so I didn’t let too much detail obscure that feature. When putting in the sky I dabbed a bit of the mix into the foreground and background trees to introduce a colour connection between sky and ground. There were also lots of interesting patches of colour in the shadows, and also on the thinner branches reaching upward, so I touched these in too. In a couple of places I overdid it so I immediately took them off with a rag. Overall, I’m pleased with this sketch.

~ by noelgarner on March 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Willows, Quy Fen, Cambridge cont…”

  1. Nice to see the stages in progress. I like what you say about connecting colour. It’s an important little trick. Nice piece of work.
    Cheers,
    Erin

  2. Thanks, Erin. It was using the photo on my phone which was interesting for me on this occasion – I’ve not done that before.

Leave a Reply

 
