Trumpington Street Cambridge


Watercolour 5"x11"

Rachel suggested to me last Sunday that a series of sketches running from the Botanic Gardens and along the Backs would be interesting, and since I was driving past this exact spot a few days ago – after a none too pleasant trip to the dentist if I remember – I pulled in to make a start. It was damp and grey – perfect for the classic wet-into-wet watercolour approach. There were various people coming and going along the footpath so I put in a few random figures when I got home. I really enjoyed doing this – wet-into-wet is great for getting into the feel of scene.

Everthing is leaning to the right. I tend to do this anyway, and also because if I’m painting from the driving seat of the pickup I’m a bit hunched up and it’s really difficult to move my painting (left) arm freely.

~ by noelgarner on March 5, 2010.

One Response to “Trumpington Street Cambridge”

  1. Wow – fantastic!!! I can’t believe you actually did it after our conversation….. how cool! I feel somewhat honoured, that our chat contributed inspiration to one of your paintings. That’s AWESOME!!! 🙂 Makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

 
