Late afternoon on the Science Park


Watercolour, knife, fine Pilot pen, gouache 4"x5"

Couple of our best friends called in yesterday and presented me with a lovely book about Rowland Hilder, the English landscape watercolourist. I have long been an admirer of his, having devoured an instructional book by him called “Painting Landscapes in Watercolour”. I can see it on the shelf from here. I picked up a couple of simple tips from him which I still use in all my watercolour paintings. Firstly, to put in some small area of black from the very beginning (he did it using Indian Ink). That way you don’t get affected by the white paper, and are much more likely to use a full range of values (assuming that is the aim, which it is in my case – I hate “pastelly” watercolours). Second he is unafraid to use watercolour with gouache in order to go over dried dark passages with lighter (albeit less saturated) hues.

I was on my way out for a walk, so I sketched with Rowland Hilder in mind here – black, very little chromatic colour (he never painted green as far as I can see), black line, scratching with a sharp knife and a little white gouache.

~ by noelgarner on February 20, 2010.

4 Responses to “Late afternoon on the Science Park”

  1. Hello Noel! Great to meet you and Judy today…..think I recognise this pic (and the 2 friends too!) Small world…. Really enjoyed chatting to you both and you have definitely inspired me anew for getting down to some painting. And, dare I admit it….some watercolour!!! Look forward to reading more.
    Rach:-)

  2. ooops….guess technically “yesterday” – didn’t realise the time (!) 🙂

  3. Yes, good to meet you too. A lovely and unexpected surprise. Now get that watercolour kit out!

  4. …I will indeed; tonight is the night – will let you know how it goes:-)

Leave a Reply

 
