Church Mykanos, Greece


It’s still cold and grey here so here is another sunny scene taken from a holiday photograph. I’ve added a couple of figures and deleted Judy (sorry luv) who was standing in the foreground. Earlier I had a more vigorous sky(below), but it dominated and looked too mannered, so I used my fingers to smooth it all out which all in all is better I think.

~ by noelgarner on February 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Church Mykanos, Greece”

  1. Hey, this is great paint study, has a vibrant feel about it – I even like it before you’ve smoothed the sky out (I am quite fond of arty things having a touch of “unfinishedness” about them).
    rachel

  2. I was concerned about painting direct from a photo< and I do think it is a little bit "stiff". Nonetheless, the light is vibrant – just how it was as I remember.

Leave a Reply

 
