Bait’s Bite Lock


Oil 8"x12"

I wrapped up well yesterday before venturing out in the pickup with my pochade box to a favourite spot near Cambridge.  I had an hour so I had to find a good spot to paint, squeeze out paint (my pochade box does not have a folding palette), paint, and pack everything away. So it was a sprint of a sketch. A chap with a dog came over to look and chat, and so I asked him if he would walk away into my view and then slowly walk back so I could paint him in at the right scale, which he was happy to do. I worked on the picture for another hour when I got home (see above) and what I did on site is shown below. I think I’ve said before that I don’t really like using black from the tube, but when I am really short of time and I want to get down the darks (like the tree trunk here) it has its uses:

How far I got on site. 8"x12"

~ by noelgarner on January 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Bait’s Bite Lock”

  1. still not sure why you don’t use a vandyke brown or paynes grey instead of black, just reminds me of the Fast Show sketch concerning ‘Black..black..!’ (if unaware of this sketch involving a landscape painter and his wife prob check with the younger generation!)

  2. I don’t have any Payne’s Grey in oil, but I do have some Vandyke Brown which I will try – thanks for the idea. As for the black I didn’t tell the whole story. The tube of black I didn’t buy – I inherited it with my dad’s painting gear when he died more than 25 years ago, and it has a sort of sentimental value. A little black goes a long way, hence the fact I am still using it. Now I think of it I can’t believe I’ve had it so long. Mind you, it’s nearly used up so this may be a cue for Payne’s Grey.

Leave a Reply

 
