New Year day painting


Oil 8"x8"

It was a very cold but sunny day today, and I thought that I should go out painting as a sort of statement to the year that I AM GOING TO PAINT IN  2010. So this was it, partly chosen from this viewpoint because there was a bench by the lake I could set my pochade box out on.

Pochade box with important winter accessory

But what I really liked was the osiers (if that’s what they’re called) which are a really brilliant purple-red at this time of the year – and even more so in the late afternoon light. The best proportion was square and my board wasn’t, so there’s a bit left over. Note the important addition of hip-flask – definitely not turps in there! I was really into this (the painting:-)) and before I knew it it was going dark and my hands were so cold I couldn’t clean my brushes.

~ by noelgarner on January 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
