Christmas project


The kitchen shelves

I’ve come up with what I think will be a great project for Christmas. We have family coming – our children, sisters and brothers in law etc. 16 at the last count. Anyway, some of them can definitely paint if they put their minds to it. So….. Here is the subject, which is  in our kitchen.

The canvas 30"x48"

I have set up a large canvas and copied onto it at 1:1 scale everything that is on these shelves. I am going to fix this to the opposite kitchen wall like it is a hung picture. You can see the space in the background here:

Then I will leave a palette of oil paints out and invite people to paint in whatever they like as long as it is of the shelves that are in sight in the kitchen. If this works out well, then it will be my version of painting humour. The real shelves and a painting of the real shelves in the same room. Cool eh? If anybody in the Cambridge area who reads my blog (and I think I know who some of  you are!) fancies dropping in over Christmas and making their mark – then please do so. I will keep posting progress. Happy Christmas everyone.

~ by noelgarner on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
