The Art of the Impossible..


R0013696

On the River Yare near Norwich. Oil 8"x12"

 A break from the calendar. Yesterday my wife and I visited our daughter in Norwich, had a pub lunch and a walk. We got back to the car as the light had almost gone. But is this a reason not to paint? Of course not. The girls disappeared into the pub while I got my pochade box out.

R0013692As can be seen there was very little light. (I didn’t have a torch). Of course your eyes get used to that, but then the automatic lights in the car park came on putting a horrible orange glow over the whole area. The result was an oil sketch that was far too blue. However I had taken a reference photograph before I began so this morning I re-worked it with much more muted blues and greys. The palette I used on site was ultramarine, white, cold grey and raw sienna. This morning I modified it with Cobalt, white, magenta and a touch of black. Here is how it looked when I finished in the dark lat night:

R0013694

~ by noelgarner on November 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
