Trinity Hall College, Cambridge


Trinity Hall College 8"x12"

Trinity Hall College 8"x12"

Painted this yesterday afternoon. A friendly young couple with a child chatted to me as I worked. He is an illustrator – was responsible for the Christmas card for the National Gallery last year. It’s quite often the case that people who come and have a look at you working are artists themselves – it tends to keep you humble. They are probably better than me.

Looking at this dispassionately, I think my watercolour style would have suited this better. I also think painting with the pochade box on my knees is just not working for me at the moment. The board is too small and I am too close to it. It’s making me think “small”, which doesn’t suit my painting temperament.

My thanks to the Porter of Trinity Hall who no doubt could see me painting from his office next to the main archway (in the picture) into the quad, but left me alone to finish my painting, long after the official closing time.

~ by noelgarner on August 17, 2009.

One Response to “Trinity Hall College, Cambridge”

  1. Hey Noel-

    This was my college when I was a postgrad a few years ago, so recognise it well. Good depiction:-)

    rj

Leave a Reply

 
