Priston Mill, Somerset – faking it in Photoshop


Priston mill. 14"x14" oil

Priston mill. 14"x14" oil

This is not quite what it appears. Yes, it’s my painting, but I wasn’t convinced that the background hill was right – it seemed perhaps too strong. I could have toned it down but then I would have had to re-paint it if that was wrong. So, Photoshop to the rescue. I created a layer just for that area as follows:

R0011086I then altered this layer in various ways to see how it looked in place.  I chose a version that is cooler and lighter in value. So, what is shown above is not actually painted yet. I will do it, honest. Here are the two versions I considered, the first one being the original :

 

 

 

Alternatives for the hill in the background

Alternatives for the hill in the background

P.S The difference is not very marked here because I was photographing off the computer screen.

~ by noelgarner on August 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
