Pears


Pears - oils on MDF board 5"x7"

Pears - oils on MDF board 5"x7"

This is in direct response to Carole Marine’s recent posting of three pears. Hers is more abstract – more a composition – also more economical with brushstrokes. But I’m progressing. I like the way she lays in a dark background and then cuts in with light to create the shadows. Check out her blog on my blogroll.

I don’t really use “out of the tube” colours, but in this instance I used a very old olive green as the basis for the pear colour here and modified it with touches of  Indian Red (which I like, but it’s very powerful) Ultramarine, white and Michael Harding Yellow Lake (a mid yellow but slightly transparent which I’m not so keen on but a touch of Titanium white opaques it up).

~ by noelgarner on June 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
