Hills and Holes 2


Oil on board 8"x12"

Oil on board 8"x12"

From the same spot as the last painting but this time focusing on one bush. Actually, the details of the fine branches were a subject in themselves (I was not facing into the sun here – the opposite in fact) but I had neither the time or the right brushes for it, so a more impressionistic sense of the scene is what I followed here. In both this and the previous sketch I was having some difficulty getting clear, dark colours. When I stopped painting and thought for a minute I realised why – I was getting muddy colour because I had not properly cleaned my brush from when I had a mix with a lot of white in it. Simple! Keep washing the brushes!

~ by noelgarner on May 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
