Onions in flower


4"x8" oil on MDF

I painted this on Sunday afternoon in our garden as the sun was dipping at around 4pm. We’ve had rain and these alium heads won’t last more than a day or two now. I liked the spread-out shape – almost like a row of full stops. I wanted to show them against a simple deep green background so I exaggerated the depth of what was there – lots of thick paint. More than I usually do. I like it though. Perhaps subconsciously I am trying to save paint – definitely not a good move. 4″x8″ oil on MDF

~ by noelgarner on May 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
