Porthleven breakwater, Cornwall


The entrance to the harbour at sunset

The entrance to the harbour at sunset

 

11″ x 14″ oil on board. I’ve been working on this for months, and again it’s from a photo although I sketched in pencil as well in the same location. This particular view grabbed me because the composition was bold and simple and reflects the rugged character of the headland where the breakwater is built. The main building catching the sun is a rather nice pub where my wife and I and our friend later enjoyed beer and fresh fish. I’ve still got a few tweaks to do, but nothing that will change the picture much from this photo of it.

~ by noelgarner on April 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
