Little Wilbraham Fen


Little Wilbraham Fen is a fascinating area of wetland just a mile east of Cambridge. It’s a long time since I’ve ventured in there and judging by yesterday, I’ve been missing something. The weather was sunny, spring-warm with hardly any wind and the wildlife on the move. I saw a Marsh Harrier doing it’s courting display – sort of loop-the-loop aerobatics, and in contrast a grass-snake (slow worm) crackling its way through the dry sedges on the banks of the dyke.

Little Wilbraham Fen

Little Wilbraham Fen

 

Same spot but looking 90 degrees to the left. Both these in oil about 6″ x8″. Yet again I managed to forget to bring a tube white, and I had trecked maybe a mile to get to this spot. Fortunately I had some still on the palette of my french easel, so I just about managed. Note to self – go and buy a tube that will fit into the easel.

In Little Wilbraham Fen

In Little Wilbraham Fen

~ by noelgarner on April 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
