Fox went out on a chilly night


Fox in snow - oil sketch near Cambridge

Fox in snow - oil sketch near Cambridge

We’ve actually had some snow in Cambridge – this is not common! I managed to get out today before the last of it disappeared, and I painted this from the tailgate of my pickup.

I generally manage to forget some vital item of art gear when I dash out of the house like this. Last time I forgot to take a tube of white (all my tubes of white are large at the moment so I have to put a tube in my pocket). This time I forgot turps. This is a problem when you’re outside with cold tubes of paint – so mixing from unthinned pigment is a struggle. Anyway, I managed quite well. This took about 45 minutes, apart from the fox. No he wasn’t posing in this position for me – but a fox did scamper through the wood on the left as I was painting, so I felt justified in the addition. I googled “fox” in images and then used a suitable photo on screen to paint from. The title is from an old Burl Ives song that harks back to my childhood.

~ by noelgarner on February 4, 2009.

One Response to “Fox went out on a chilly night”

  1. I like this one too!
    Nice touch
    K

Leave a Reply

 
