Whittlesford Allotments


whittlesford-allotments1

Pen outline
Pen outline

I was in the Cambridge village of Whittlesford this morning to visit the Gallery there and offer some of my paintings to the proprietors. (They kindly took three) So with a brilliant sunny and very cold day it was a good opportunity to do a watercolour sketch. This view in the allotments (for the non-UK viewer allotments are a peculiarly British institution – you can hire a small plot of land near where you live and  grow vegetables and flowers).  This worked out pretty well with the sun streaming towards me.

~ by noelgarner on January 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “Whittlesford Allotments”

  1. Hi Noel
    I love your watercolours. This painting seems to pulsate with behind-the-scenes life. I wonder if painting on site does that.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I must say that I get a complete buzz out of painting outside in front of a subject that inspires me. In this case the cold air, cold colours but warm sky, frost etc were all things I wanted to try and capture – and of course the strong sunlight throwing everything into sharp relief.

Leave a Reply

 
