Happisburgh – Norfolk coast


This village on the east Norfolk coast is well known for crumbling into the sea – part of it anyway. I didn’t paint much in the two days we were staying in the area, but I took lots of reference photos of the crumbling sea defences. I don’t work from photos as a rule but in this case the shapes and colours were quite extraordinary, and I don’t know when I’ll re-visit this area. However, this sketch from the beach shows how precarious parts of the village are. I was pleased with the sky detail, echoed in part in the pebbles of the beach. 3″x5″

The beach at Happisburgh - pencil 3"x5"

The beach at Happisburgh - pencil 3

~ by noelgarner on October 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
