Day 3 Cornwall


Another day of visits to the Cornwall coast, starting with Newlyn , where I painted watercolour on acrylic paper (I had managed to not bring more than 3 small sheets of watercolour paper with me) again facing into the sun, as I had mostly done at St. Ives. Palette for all my watercolours on this trip was:

Cadmium yellow, raw sienna, ultramarine blue, pthalo blue, Paynes grey, Cerulean blue (little used) lamp black, Burnt Umber, Raw Sienna, Cadmium red and Alizarin Crimson. I should add that I would not often use paynes grey or lamp black, but when you are working quickly in the sun and speed is everything, being able to put a really deep tone on the paper without scrubbing around mixing up a dark, is very useful. If my paper is in the sun (which it often was) then the application of a really dark area is helpful in establishing a full range of tones. CornwallAfter Newlyn it was on to nearby Mousehole for lunch. My wife and friends indulged me no end, leaving me time to paint whilst they walked around, assuring me that I wasn’t dominating the time we had. What it is to have good friends! This view of Moushole harbour was almost entirely in shadow, which is what it made a challenge – picking out just the few features that were in the light. Watercolour on acrylic paper. All these sketches and watercolours, by the way, are about 4 x 6 inches, and generally took about an hour each except for the monocrome sketches which were about 15 minutes each, with maybe a few small details added when we got back to base.

Old Newlyn harbour, Cornwall

Old Newlyn harbour, .

Mousehole harbour, Cornwall

Mousehole harbour, Cornwall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The final destination was Lamorna Cove, which I must have last visited with my parents as a small child. The Cove was a disappointment when it came to it, and the breakwater was partially broken down by the action of the sea. So I decided to find something completely different; a small group of daisies clinging to  the rock face overlooking the sea. I have photographed my painting in several stages to show how I approach a watercolour when there is insufficient time to do a wet-into-wet technique (which I prefer, and which I did on the Mousehole picture – which is why the overall colouring is more unified. For the record I washed the whole paper with a cool grey, reserving the areas on which the sun was striking). Anyway, it can be seen here how I choose to paint opposite, unconnected sides of the painting so that each wash has time to dry without colours bleeding into one another. Also shown is a photo of the subject, although, as usual I completed the picture in one sitting in front of the subject, apart from some scratching out and working in some dark areas later back at home.

Daisies stage 1 - pencil outline

Daisies stage 1 - pencil outline

Daisies stage 2

Daisies stage 2

Daisies stage 3

Daisies stage 3

Daisies stage 4

Daisies stage 4

Daisies stage 5

Daisies stage 5

Daisies - final stage

Daisies - final stage

Photo of daisies

Photo of daisies

~ by noelgarner on October 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
