Oil bars re-discovered


Judy's red onions

Judy

So after trying out my oil pastels again, I also dug out some oil bars I’ve not used for years and tried a still life. The bars were well-encrusted and I need to pare away the skins with a pen-knife. The oil bars worked well with subject and the vigorous treatment I had in mind. The ground was an MDF board primed with tinted acrylic gesso. The bars were great – very direct. I also used some Sennelier  oil pastels for finer detail – they are the only ones soft enough to run over the top of wet oil bar and even then it is rather messy. I scratched out some fine lines too with the knife, pressing hard to get through the top tinted layer and down to the underlying white gesso.

~ by noelgarner on September 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
