Benj and Abi’s wedding


I was invited to a wedding in June in which my son was best man and daughter maid of honour. Knowing the young couple well, I offered to paint a picture as a memento, and they readily agreed. The result is shown below. This was roughed out in oil on canvas (12″x9″ approx) at the scene – with me trying hard not to get paint on my best clothes. Well, it’s taken me now to finish it. I say, “finish” but I’m not happy with it – as is often the case when I am doing something in effect to please someone else. It’s laboured and the composition and colouring was not very inspiring and, again, the lighting was flat. Anyway, enough is enough. However, to get my frustration out, I did a quick sketch on paper with oil pastel of the approach I would like to have taken, and that’s picture below – about 3″x5″. Much better in my view, but would the happy couple like it more? Mmm…. possibly not.

This is the version I prefer

This is the version I prefer

Benj and Abi's wedding - finished picture

Benj and Abi wedding - the final version

This is what I painted on the day

This is what I painted on the day

~ by noelgarner on September 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
